Home » India News » 2012 » June » June 26, 2012

Sangma meets Mamata, hopes to get Trinamool support

June 26, 2012 - Kolkata

As the race for Raisina Hill heats up, former Lok Sabha speaker P.A. Sangma met West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress (TMC) chief Mamata Banerjee here on Tuesday to seek her support for his candidature during the presidential poll.

"I have come to Kolkata to meet the honourable chief minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee and other leaders like Mukul Roy, our Railway Minister. I have come here to request for the support of my candidature in the coming presidential election," Sangma told the media here.

"I am very happy with outcome of the meeting and I am going back with a lot of hope for the support of Mamatadi and the Trinamool Congress," he added.

Trinamool Congress leader and Union Railway Minister Mukul Roy, however, said after the meeting that a final call on backing Sangma for the coveted post will be taken only after holding due consultations within the party.

"P.A. Sangma, the presidential candidate, today he came to the Writers' Building, West Bengal, to meet the honourable chief minister as well as the chairperson of the All India Trinamool Congress Committee seeking support for the presidential election. Party will sit and discuss and then we will intimate the decision of our party later on. There is (still) time and so there is no hurry to take a decision," he said.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has thrown its weight behind Sangma. He has also been promised support of the AIADMK and the Biju Janata Dal. He is now seeking the support of the Trinamool Congress, which is the ruling UPA Government's key ally.

Sangma will lock horns with UPA nominee Pranab Mukherjee, who is the leading contender for the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Sangma, who is determined to contest the presidential poll as a candidate of the Tribal Forum of India, quit the NCP earlier this month on grounds that his self-respect was being compromised.

The presidential elections will be held on July 19. The vote count will take place on July 22.

Pratibha Devisingh Patil's term as President ends on July 24.


Comment on this story