Home » India News » 2012 » July » July 1, 2012

Karnataka crisis: Yeddyurappa loyalist Shettar releases list of 52 supporting MLAs

July 1, 2012 - Bangalore

Former Karnataka chief minister BS Yeddyurappa loyalist Jagadish Shettar on Sunday released a list of 52 supporting MLAs (including himself).

The Yeddyurappa camp has been demanding that incumbent Chief Minister Sadananda Gowda be removed and be replaced by Shettar.

In a revolt, nine ministers, including Shettar himself, resigned from the Gowda government on Friday.

Although Gowda refused to accept their resignations, party sources now say that it is likely the BJP will make Shettar the deputy CM.

The BJP's Parliamentary unit is expected to decide this week whether to replace Gowda with Shettar.

Gowda was made the Chief Minister after Yeddyurappa was removed from the post following allegations of his involvement in the illegal mining scam in July 2011.

Ever since then, Yeddyurappa has been at loggerheads with the party high command, demanding that Gowda be removed and be replaced.

He is reportedly said to be keen that Shettar be made the Chief Minister.

The nine ministers who resigned on Friday included Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Minister Jagadish Shettar, PWD Minister CM Udasi, Shobha Karndalaje, Housing Minister V Sommanna, Water Resources Minister Basavaraj Bommai, Industries Minister Murugesh Nirani, Animal Husbandry Minister Revu Naik Belamagi, Excise Minister MP Renukacharya and Agriculture Minister Umesh Katti

Udasi said that another minister, Raju Gowda would quit soon. (ANI with inputs)


Comment on this story