Home » India News » 2012 » July » July 10, 2012

Jagadish Shettar elected leader of Karanataka BJP legislature party

July 10, 2012 - Bangalore

A day after Karnataka Chief Minister Sadananda Gowda announced that he is ready to step down, the BJP Legislature Party has elected Jagadish Shettar its leaders thereby making him the new Chief Minister of Karnataka. Senior BJP leaders Arun Jaitley and Rajnath Singh who are in Karnataka as observers have ensured that everything went according to the plan of the high command.

In an interesting development, the BJP is planning to announce two Deputy Chief Ministers – KS Eshwarappa who is the current BJP State chief and R Ashoka, the Transport and Home Minister. Bowing to the pressure put by former Chief Minister BS Yedyurappa, the BJP central leadership has announced Shettar as the new Chief Minister. Outgoing Chief Minister Sadananda Gowda also put forth his demands while stepping down. He wanted to be made the BJP Karnataka unit chief replacing Eshwarappa and to be given equal number of ministerial berths to members of his camp. The demands from Sadananda came in the last minute. This creates a new headache for the BJP central leadership who thought the change in Chief Ministers would resolve the crisis. Reports said that Sadananda Gowda was offered to be made Rajya Sabha member, but he rejected it.

Sadananda Gowda is expected to submit his resignation to Governor HR Bhardwaj later in the evening. Shettar would also meet the Governor to form the new government.

Andhra News

Comment on this story