Home » India News » 2011 » April » April 13, 2011

Assembly polls: Tamil Nadu records 75 pc voting, Kerala 74 pc, Puducherry 83 pc

April 13, 2011 - Chennai/Thiruvananthapuram/Puducherry

An estimated 75 per cent of 4.7 crore electorate cast their votes in the elections to the 234-member Assembly in Tamil Nadu, around 74 per cent voters cast their votes in Kerala, while Puducherry recorded 83.62 per cent as polling ended peacefully in all three states on Wednesday.

In Tamil Nadu, over 75 per cent of the electorate cast their votes in all 234 assembly constituencies.

Today's electorate would be deciding whether incumbent Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi would be given the chance to become the state head for a record sixth time and also enter the precincts of the assembly as its member for a record 12th time.

Among the prominent Congress leaders, whose fate were sealed in the ballot include DMK leader and Chief Minister M Karunanidhi (Tiruvarur), AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa (Srirangam), Karunanidhi's son and Deputy Chief Minister M K Stalin Kolathur) and DMDK actor-founder Vijayakanth (Rishivandyam).

In Kerala, a total of 74.4 per cent of the 2.31 crore electorate cast their franchise in all the 140 assembly segments across the state.

Kannur district topped in the turnout recording 80.4 per cent followed by Kozhikode 80.2 per cent and Alappuzha and Ernakulam with 77.8 and 77.4 per cent. The lowest voter participation was reported from Pathanamthitta 68.2 percent and Thiruvananthapuram 68.5 per cent.

Among the prominent candidates, whose fate were sealed include Chief Minister VS Achuthanandan (Malampuzha), UDF"s Chief Ministerial probable Oomen Chandy (Puthupally), KPCC president Ramesh Chennithala (Harippad), CPI(M) polit bureau member Kodiyeri Blakrishnan (Thalassery), Muslim League leader P K Kunhalikutty (Vengara), Kerala Congress (M) supremo K M Mani (Pala) and senior BJP leader O Rajagopal (Nemom).

In Puducherry, around 83.62 per cent voters exercised their franchise.

Prominent candidates whose fate were decided include Chief Minister V Vaithilingam, Ministers E Valsaraj, M Kandasamy, Malladi Krishna Rao, M.O.H.F Shajahan and A Namasivayam, Speaker of the outgoing assembly R Radhakrishnan (all Congress), former Chief Ministers N Rangasamy (N R Congress) and R V Janakiraman (DMK) and former Ministers Chandragasu, Ananda Bhasakaran and Rajavelu (all N R Congress), Theni Jayakumar and Lakshminarayanan (both Congress).


Comment on this story