Home » India News » 2010 » December » December 2, 2010

Revolt in new Andhra Pradesh cabinet, two ministers quit

December 2, 2010 - Hyderabad

Allocation of portfolios to the newly sworn in ministers has been creating trouble for the Kiran Kumar Reddy's government, as two ministers resigned hours after he constituted his Council of Ministers.

Vatti Vasantha Kumar and Komatireddi Venkat Reddy sent their resignations to the Chief Minister last night.

Vatti, who had held the portfolio of Rural Development in the previous K Rosaiah government, quit after he was given the charge of the Tourism Department in the new ministry.

Following in Vatti's steps, Komatireddi too forwarded his resignation to the Chief Minister. He was the Minister for Information Technology and Communications in the previous government.

Some other ministers are also likely to follow suit. Among those who have expressed dissatisfaction with their portfolios are Dharmana Prasada Rao (R&B), Ponnala Laxmaiah (IT), Botcha Satyanarayana (Transport), K. Laxminarayana (Housing). C. Damoda Rajanarsimha (Higher Education), Danam Nagendar (Labour), P. Shankar Rao (Textiles), Komatireddy Venkat Reddy (Ports) and Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy (Cooperation).

Meanwhile, the Chief Minister has deputed Finance Minister Anam Ramnarayan Reddy to speak to the ministers who are dissatisfied with their portfolios.

The new Andhra Pradesh Cabinet has took the charge on Wednesday.

Kiran Kumar Reddy dropped leaders close to son of former Chief Minister YS Rajashekhara Reddy, Jaganmohan Reddy.


Comment on this story