Jethmalani Mallya Anand Sharma makes
Andhra Pradesh ~ India ~ International ~ City ~ Entertainment ~ Business ~ Sports ~ Technology ~ Health ~ Features
2010 Commonwealth Games ~ 2010 Nobel Prizes ~ Sachin Tendulkar ~ Rajasthan Royals ~ Kings XI Punjab ~ Sushil Kumar ~ Deepika Kumari ~ Somdev Devvarman ~ HR Bhardwaj
Home / India News / 2010 / June 2010 / June 17, 2010
Jethmalani, Mallya, Anand Sharma makes it to Upper House
RSS / Print / Comments

Rajya Sabha

BJP asks Manmohan Singh to recall Karnataka Governor Bhardwaj

Yeddyurrappa ready to prove majority in Karnataka Assembly on Oct.14

Arun Jaitley asks for recall of Karnataka Governor

More on Rajya Sabha

Vishwanath Pratap Singh

Jethmalani, Mallya, Anand Sharma makes it to Upper House

Anand Sharma, Tak and Budhaniya file nomination for Rajya Sabha polls

Prime Ministers Press Conferences. RECOLLECTIONS OF A COMMUNICATOR (Update -Article

More on Vishwanath Pratap Singh

Lok Janshakti Party

Lalu Yadav announces second list of RJD's candidates for Bihar polls

Chidambaram should not relate national flag with terrorism: BJP

Chidambaram's saffron terrorism remark rocks proceedings in Rajya Sabha

More on Lok Janshakti Party

Ram Vilas Paswan

Lalu, Paswan release joint election manifesto for Bihar Assembly polls

Manmohan Singh presides over all party meeting on Kashmir today (Re-Issue)

Chidambaram should not relate national flag with terrorism: BJP

More on Ram Vilas Paswan

Anand Sharma

Government of India to give cash awards to Indian Hockey if they win in Commonwealth Games

India-Kenya Joint Trade Committee meeting in Nairobi

India-Kenya Joint Trade Committee meeting in Nairobi

More on Anand Sharma

Vijay Mallya

India could be a market of over 4 billion passengers in near future : DG and CEO, IATA

British Airways-Iberia could buy Indian airline

IPL muscles flexing leaves White open to disclosing Victorian mates drawbacks

More on Vijay Mallya

Oscar Fernandes

Sonia refuses to meet Lalu's bro-in-law and Congress aspirant Subhash Yadav

Sonia re-elected Congress president for record fourth time

Sonia Gandhi can become party chief 40 times: Congress

More on Oscar Fernandes

Top News

144 Section in Hyderabad ahead of Ayodhya verdict

Trinamool accuses CPI (M), police of harassing and arresting party workers

Airline captain dies while flying plane from Philippines to Qatar

Russell Brand and Katy Perry want their wedding to be 'normal'

Foreign investors eyeing India to avoid West's economic doldrums

Anjali Tendulkar expresses happiness over Sachin's double century against Australia

Yoga may have the power to fight fibromyalgia

Watermelon effectively lowers BP

Jethmalani, Mallya, Anand Sharma makes it to Upper House

The prominent candidates who were in the fray for Thursdays Rajya Sabha polls have secured victory with the help of supporting parties.

New Delhi, June 17 : The prominent candidates who were in the fray for Thursday's Rajya Sabha polls have secured victory with the help of supporting parties.

Union Commerce and Industry Minister Anand Sharma, Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) leaders M Venkaih Naidu, Rajeev Pratap Rudy, independent candidate Vijay Mallya, noted lawyer Ram Jethmalani, former Union Minister Oscar Fernandes and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief Ram Vilas Paswan were among the prominent persons who registered wins in the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha..

The elections were held for 14 seats-- five seats from Bihar and four seats each form Rajasthan and Karnataka.

In the elections held in Bihar, candidates of the ruling NDA and RJD-LJP combine were set to be elected after independent candidate Uday Garudachar conceded defeat.

With Garudachar, whose presence in the fray necessitated the elections to the five Rajya Sabha seats from the state, conceding defeat, the win in the polls became an easy task for RJD-LJP nominees Paswan and Ramkripal Yadav besides BJP's Rajiv Pratap Rudy and JD(U)'s R C P Singh and Upendra Prasad Kushwaha.

In Rajasthan both the Congress and the BJP managed to bag two seats each.

BJP candidates, Ram Jethmalani, V.P. Singh and congress nominees Anand Sharma, Ashk Ali Tak made it to the upper house in a closely contested election.

However, the Congress-supported Independent nominee Santosh Bagrodia lost.

In Karnataka,Independent candidate Vijay Mallya, former BJP president M Venkaih Naidu, Ayanur Manjunath and Congress nominee former Union Minister Oscar Fernandes made it to the Rajya Sabha.

Congress second candidate T V Maruti lost the election.

Meanwhile, the cross voting by the MLAs also haunted in this election also.

A few MLAs of BJP, RJD and BSP defied their party lines and voted for candidates of their choice during the polling for five seats of Rajya Sabha from Bihar.

Reportedly, out of five MLAs of BSP in Bihar Legislative Assembly, one voted for JD(U) candidate while the other two voted for RJD candidate when the last report came in.

Similarly, one RJD MLA opted to vote for BJP candidate while one BJP MLA also voted in favour of RJD candidate.


Link to this page

Suggested pages for your additional reading on Facebook

© 2000-2017 All Rights Reserved and are of their respective owners.
Disclaimer, Terms of Service & Privacy Policy | Contact Us