Aamir Khan Copyright Act committee
Andhra Pradesh ~ India ~ International ~ City ~ Entertainment ~ Business ~ Sports ~ Technology ~ Health ~ Features
2010 Commonwealth Games ~ 2010 Nobel Prizes ~ Sachin Tendulkar ~ Rajasthan Royals ~ Kings XI Punjab ~ Sushil Kumar ~ Deepika Kumari ~ Somdev Devvarman ~ HR Bhardwaj
Home / India News / 2010 / February 2010 / February 17, 2010
Aamir Khan resigns from Copyright Act committee
RSS / Print / Comments

Javed Akhtar

Ashutosh Gowariker unveils promo of 'Khelein Hum Jee Jaan Se'

Peoples Tribunal to deliberate on Kandhamal riot victims complaints

Women from various fields demonstrate for early passage of Womens Reservation Bill

More on Javed Akhtar

Taare Zameen Par

Nattha of Peepli Live meets Deepika Padukone in Mumbai

Peepli Live, a thoughtful and comic look at Indian society: Aamir

Aamir Khan resigns from Copyright Act committee

More on Taare Zameen Par

Aamir Khan

MIT Pune to host 'Parliament of Student Council Leaders'

Aamir Khan unveils Mahindra's two motorbikes in Mumbai

57th National Awards: '3 Idiots' bags 'Best Popular film', Amitabh 'Best Actor' award

More on Aamir Khan

Mukesh Bhatt

Aamir Khan resigns from Copyright Act committee

New movies in multiplexes from June 12

Standoff between producers and multiplexes resolved

More on Mukesh Bhatt

Kapil Sibal

India, Scotland sign four MoUs in education sector

Sibal offers free education for student CWG medal winners

Government should not step into Ayodhya issue: Sibal

More on Kapil Sibal

Top News

144 Section in Hyderabad ahead of Ayodhya verdict

Security beefed for Durga Puja festival in West Bengal

Palin warns of 'Armageddon', WW III if Iran obtains nuke weapons

Milla Jovovich on her career and family life

Google Inc. working with less known handset makers to target middle clas Indians

Arrest warrant issued against Rio Ferdinand's brother for skipping court date

Mercedes-Benz to come up with safer child seat soon

Blame your mom for your muffin top or thunder thighs

Aamir Khan resigns from Copyright Act committee

Bollywood actor Aamir Khan has resigned from the ten-member committee formed by the Centre to look into proposed amendments to the Copyright Act.

New Delhi, Feb 17 : Bollywood actor Aamir Khan has resigned from the ten-member committee formed by the Centre to look into proposed amendments to the Copyright Act.

In a letter to Union Human Resource Development (HRD) Minister Kapil Sibal, Aamir said, "It seems to me that there is an attempt by certain people to attack me in public by printing lies about me, thereby turning the attention away from a genuine debate about copyright issues."

There are media reports that at a recent meeting between producers and writers over the issue of royalties, Aamir tried to take credit from lyricists by saying that a song's popularity depended on the star on whom it was picturised.

Aamir's remarks annoyed lyricist Javed Akhtar, who said the popular song 'Papa Kehte Hain' became a hit despite Aamir not being a star at that time.

Aamir said, he was not comfortable hearing such allegations.

"I am grateful to you for inviting me to be a part of a committee to discuss the various issues regarding amendments to the Copyright Act. However, in the light of these public attacks on me, I don't think I am comfortable to be part of this committee," Aamir said in his letter to Sibal.

"I take great pride in my honesty and integrity, and attach an enormous amount of value to my sense of justice and fair play. Monetary achievements have never excited me," claimed Aamir adding "I would have acted in many more than one film a year, thereby being financially much richer."

"Had I been driven by monetary achievements, I would not have produced films that challenge the mainstream and break new ground, films like 'Lagaan', 'Taare Zameen Par' and 'Peepli Live', that most producers would hesitate to produce," said Aamir.

Aamir further wrote to Sibal, "I believe that amendments to the Copyright Act are long overdue and I am so happy that a person like you is spearheading this movement."

"I believe that the changes that you are bringing about in the sphere of education are so dynamic, progressive and positive, that I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that you will do the same in the field of copyright," said Aamir.

The Copyright Act panel also includes Javed Akhtar, Boney Kapoor, Mukesh Bhatt, Vishal Bharadwaj, Vishal Dadlani, Prasoon Joshi, Anjum Rajabli, Madhu Manthena and Bhushan Kumar.


Link to this page

Suggested pages for your additional reading
AndhraNews.net on Facebook

© 2000-2017 AndhraNews.net. All Rights Reserved and are of their respective owners.
Disclaimer, Terms of Service & Privacy Policy | Contact Us