Polling  final
Andhra Pradesh ~ India ~ International ~ City ~ Entertainment ~ Business ~ Sports ~ Technology ~ Health ~ Features
2010 Commonwealth Games ~ 2010 Nobel Prizes ~ Sachin Tendulkar ~ Rajasthan Royals ~ Kings XI Punjab ~ Sushil Kumar ~ Deepika Kumari ~ Somdev Devvarman ~ HR Bhardwaj
Home / India News / 2007 / May 2007 / May 8, 2007
Polling for final phase of UP Assembly polls begins
RSS / Print / Comments
Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2007

Congress asks Shekhawat to disqualify Natwar Singh from Rajya Sabha

More on Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2007

Top News

144 Section in Hyderabad ahead of Ayodhya verdict

Manmohan Singh to campaign in Bihar today

FBI failed to act on Headley's wife's terror link expose 3 yrs before Mumbai attacks

Craven's horror flicks 'were inspired by real stories'

RBI will intervene if inflows turn lumpy: Subbarao

Enforcement Directorate issues 'Look Out Circular' against Lalit Modi

Now, laser technology that destroys tumours using heat

Waist size, not BMI can foretell cardiovascular risk in children

Polling for final phase of UP Assembly polls begins

Polling for the final and seventh phase of Uttar Pradesh (UP) Assembly elections is on amid tight security.

Lucknow/ Ballia/ Deoria, May 8 : Polling for the final and seventh phase of Uttar Pradesh (UP) Assembly elections is on amid tight security.

Around 17 million voters are expected to decide the fate of 934 contenders for 59 Assembly constituencies in the State. So far, no untoward incident has been reported.

The districts, which are going to polls today, are Deoria, Gorkahpur, Ballia, Kushinagar, Maharajganj, Faizabad, Azamgarh, Mau and Ambedkarnagar.

Major leaders whose fate will be decided today are Ambika Chaudhary, Harishankar Tiwari, Mukhtar Ansar, Amarmani Tripathi and Akhilesh Pratap Singh.

Uttar Pradesh's borders with Nepal and Bihar have been closed to prevent anti-social elements from crossing over during the voting.

Officials said special checking posts manned by paramilitary forces have been set up.

"The border (with Nepal) is about 64 kilometers long. We are making special arrangements in this regard. We have set up 12 barriers, 48 hours before the polls. We are checking people. Besides, the SSB (Sashastra Seema Bal) have set up 12 barriers along with mobile teams.

We talked to the authorities on the other side (Nepal). Officers from both sides met, and made arrangements so that no criminal elements can cross over," B B Bakshi, Deputy Inspector General of police, Gorkhpur Division, said.

Bakshi added that checking was on to prevent any anti-social element from crossing over from Bihar.

"Bihar also shares borders. We have met officials there too and have exchanged notes.

We are working together. Barriers have been erected. Checking is continuing and here too checking has started 48 hours before the polls, so that no unwanted elements can come into the State," Bakshi said.

A social scientist has said that the last leg has the maximum number of candidates with criminal background.

Rajan Kumar, a social scientist, warned that if such candidates happened to win it elections, it would detrimental to the society's interests.

"In the time to come, when these people (the tainted leaders) go to the Parliament or the Assembly, how will they work for the people if his mentality is not right. A corrupt mentality cannot trust anyone. They cannot do anything for anyone," Kumar said.

A study by Election Watch, a voluntary group headed by a former Director General of Police said, at least 162 of the 934 contestants for 59 seats face criminal charges.

But party candidates dismissed such reports saying they were baseless.

"No importance should be attached to it. It is easy to claim but difficult to prove (the allegations)," said Markandya Chand, a BJP candidate said.

Rajendra Singh, a candidate of the Samajwadi party, agreed with Chand.

"The allegations are totally false. I serve the society. I am the son of a farmer and live among the people," said Singh.

Counting of votes for 403 Assembly Constituencies will take place on May 11 and results are expected on the same day.


Suggested pages for your additional reading
AndhraNews.net on Facebook

© 2000-2018 AndhraNews.net. All Rights Reserved and are of their respective owners.
Disclaimer, Terms of Service & Privacy Policy | Contact Us