World Photography Day
Andhra Pradesh ~ India ~ International ~ City ~ Entertainment ~ Business ~ Sports ~ Technology ~ Health ~ Features
2010 Commonwealth Games ~ 2010 Nobel Prizes ~ Sachin Tendulkar ~ Rajasthan Royals ~ Kings XI Punjab ~ Sushil Kumar ~ Deepika Kumari ~ Somdev Devvarman ~ HR Bhardwaj
Home / India News / 2007 / August 2007 / August 18, 2007
World Photography Day Contest and Photo Exhibition Winners Announced
RSS / Print / Comments

Top News

144 Section in Hyderabad ahead of Ayodhya verdict

Manmohan Singh to campaign in Bihar today

FBI failed to act on Headley's wife's terror link expose 3 yrs before Mumbai attacks

Craven's horror flicks 'were inspired by real stories'

RBI will intervene if inflows turn lumpy: Subbarao

Enforcement Directorate issues 'Look Out Circular' against Lalit Modi

Now, laser technology that destroys tumours using heat

Waist size, not BMI can foretell cardiovascular risk in children

World Photography Day Contest and Photo Exhibition Winners Announced

To mark the occasion, the A.P Press Photographers Association, gave a call last month for entries and invited contributions from photojournalists.

Hyderabad, August 18....: August 19 is the World Photography Day. To mark the occasion and celebrate the same, The A.P Press Photographers Association, the professionals body of 500 and odd news photographers in the state gave a call last month for entries and invited contributions from photojournalists.

In response to the call for the 5th Annual World Photography Day Contest and Photo Exhibition a record number of over 400 entries were received from photo journalists from all over Andhra Pradesh. A panel of judges comprised of Mr. S. Nagesh Kumar, Bureau Chief, The Hindu, Mr. N. Nageshwar Rao, Principal of Eenadu School of Journalism and Mr. Bharath Bhushan, a veteran photojournalist went through the entries today and selected the following winners.

1st Prize Mr. M. Ramesh(Eenadu), Hyderabad; 2nd Prize Mr. A. sampath kumar(Eenadu), Hyderabad and 3rd Prize(Joint Winners) Mr. G.V. Narayana(Andhra Jyothi), Hyderabad; Mr. Vijay(Andhra Jyothi) Vizag. Nine photographers were announced for Consolation Prize. These include Mr. K. Ramesh Babu(The Hindu) Hyderabad; Mr.Mohd Shakoor(Andhra Jyothi) Karimnagar; Mr. S.K. Aziz(Eenadu) Mahboobnagar; Mr. M. Sampath(Eenadu), Vijayawada; Mr. G. Veeresh(Andhra Jyothi), Kurnoo; Mr. N. Shivakumar(vaartha) Hyderabad; Mr. R. Raghavendra(Eenadu), Hyderabad; Mr. G. Prashanth( Eenadu), Khammam; Mr. Shukath(Snaps India), Hyderabad.

Disclosing this in a Press Note issued in Hyderabad today the association President Mr. H. Satish informed the 1st Prize winner will receive a cash prize of Rs 7000(First Prize), 2nd Prize Rs 5000/-, 3rd Prize(two joint winners) 3000/(each)- and Rs 1000/- each of nine consolation prize winners. All the winners as well as participants will be awarded a participation certification. All these prizes are courtesy to Picasso Digital Media.

The prize winning entries as well as other entries will be showcased in a News Photo Exhibition to be held at Corridors of Ravindra Bharathi. This will be inaugurated on the occasion of World Photography Day tomorrow by Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh Dr. Y.S. Rajaskhara Reddy at 8am. Other guests of honour who will grace the inaugural function include Mr. A. Ramnarayan Reddy, Information Minister will be guest of honour.

The Awards initiated five years ago have come a long way in terms of creating awareness and increasing number of entries being received every year. The very first of year of instituting awards only 22 photographers participated And this year 123 photographers took part in the contest. This shows growing amount of awareness for news photography in our state.

Issued for and on behalf of the Assn: D.Ramchandram, Solus Media, Mobile: 98480-42020

Solus Media

Suggested pages for your additional reading on Facebook

© 2000-2017 All Rights Reserved and are of their respective owners.
Disclaimer, Terms of Service & Privacy Policy | Contact Us