Home » Features » Sport Events » World Series Hockey

World Series Hockey

World Series Hockey

World Series Hockey (WSH) is an initiative of the Indian Hockey Federation. The series is played among eight franchisee-based teams. The objective of the series is to reinvigorate field hockey sport in India and to promote Hockey as a sport of choice for youngsters in the country.


The traditional field hockey rules and regulations will be followed in the World Series Hockey. Each franchise will have 25 registered players out of which 18 can play. All the matches played will be of 70 minutes duration. Instead of two halves in the traditional hockey, the game will have four quarters of 17 ½ minutes each.

Green and Red cards will be used for on-field offences and video umpires will be used in all games of the series. One-on-one shoot-outs will be used in semifinals and final in case the match fails to produce a result.


The Inaugural edition of the World Series Hockey will be played from February 29, 2012 to April 1, 2012. It was initially scheduled to be held from December 17, 2011 to January 22, 2012. The Finals will be played in three matches, on January 19, 21 and 22.


The Pakistani Hockey players playing in the Hockey India League are likely to skip the ties in Mumbai unless tight security is provided. The Shiv Sena has warned that they would not allow the Pakistani players to play the matches in Mumbai.

Franchises / Teams

Team NameCityOwner(s)CaptainHead Coach
Chennai CheetahsChennaiChennai Sports Organisers Pvt. Ltd.Brent LivermoreJose Brasa
Karnataka LionsBangaloreSporting Ace Pvt. Ltd. (Zentrum Group)Arjun HalappaJude Felix
Delhi WizardsDelhiWizcraft International Entertainment Pvt. LtdLucas VilaRoelant Oltmans
Pune StrykersPuneSai Grace Sports & Events Pvt. Ltd.Rodrigo GarzaGundeep Singh
MumbaiMumbai WarriorsAdrian D'SouzaAndrew Meredith
BhopalBhopalSardara SinghVasudevan Bhaskaran
Chandigarh CometsChandigarhRehan ButtHarendra Singh
PunjabJalandharPrabhjot SinghRajinder Singh


League Phase

Each team will play the other twice - at home and away. Since there are eight teams, each team will play 14 league matches. The League Phase consists of 56 matches. Four teams that top the table in the league phase will advance to the playoffs.


The No.1 team in the league phase will play No. 4 team, while the No. 2 team will play the No. 3 team in the semifinals. The winner of the semifinals will play for the title in the finals. The Finals will be a best of three matches.

World Series Hockey in News

ESPN STAR Sports Secures Worldwide Broadcast Partners for Hero Hockey India League
ESPN STAR Sports, the official broadcaster of Hero Hockey India League, announced today a comprehensive line-up of global syndication partners that are showcasing the tournament in more than 83 territories worldwide. The inaugural edition of the league is being broadcast with Hindi commentary on STAR Sports while STAR Cricket is showcasing select matches of the league in English

Hero Hockey India League Starts with a Bang; Close to 1.5 Crore Individuals Watched the League in the First Week Itself
-- At 1.46 crores, HHIL is 1

Pakistan orders probe into hockey team's poor performance
The Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) has ordered an investigation about the national team' s poor performance in the recently concluded Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Cup Tournament 2012 in Malaysia where Pakistani team ended at last position among seven teams.

Massive changes in Pak hockey team expected following Azlan Shah Cup debacle
Ahead of the Olympics, talks about impending changes in the hockey team, including the captain's arm-band, have started to gain momentum after Pakistan hit rock bottom at the Azlan Shah Cup.

Lahore to host hockey series against India, Malaysia in April
The Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) has confirmed that Lahore will host a tri-nation tournament involving India and Malaysia from April 9.

Hockey India to conduct International Men Hockey League
Hockey India shall be conducting the International Men Hockey League under the aegis of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) from 2013.

Pak hockey players won't be allowed to take part in Indian WSH
Despite the International Hockey Federation (FIH) no longer having any problem with the Indian Hockey Federation-organised World Series Hockey (WSH), the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) has said it will not allow its players to be a part of the league, unless it has also been recognised by Hockey India.

Comment on this story