Home » Features » Sport Events » World Series Hockey 2011-12

World Series Hockey 2011-12

World Series Hockey 2011-12

The 2011-12 season is the inaugural edition of World Series Hockey. The matches is played from February 29, 2012 to April 1, 2012. It was initially scheduled to be held from December 17, 2011 to January 22, 2012.

Opening Ceremony

The Opening Ceremony of the World Series Hockey was hosted at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium.

Points Table

Chandigarh Comets1491428
Karnataka Lions1470721
Pune Strykers1463521
Delhi Wizards1461719
Chennai Cheetahs1461719
Bhopal Badshahs1452717
Mumbai Marines1441913

Franchises / Teams

The following Franchises / Teams will play in the inaugural edition of the World Series Hockey.

Team NameCityOwner(s)CaptainHead Coach
Bhopal BadshahsBhopalDainik BhaskarSameer DadVasudevan Bhaskaran
Chandigarh CometsChandigarhRehan ButtHarendra Singh
Chennai CheetahsChennaiChennai Sports Organisers Pvt. Ltd.Brent LivermoreJose Brasa
Delhi WizardsDelhiWizcraft International Entertainment Pvt. LtdShakeel AbbasiRoelant Oltmans
Karnataka LionsBangaloreSporting Ace Pvt. Ltd. (Zentrum Group)Arjun HalappaJude Felix
Mumbai MarinesMumbaiAshish Bharatram (SRF Group) and Harish Thawani (Nimbus)Adrian D'SouzaAndrew Meredith
Pune StrykersPuneSai Grace Sports & Events Pvt. Ltd.Ken PereiraGundeep Singh
Sher-e-PunjabJalandharPrabhjot SinghRajinder Singh


February 29, 2012Wednesday8:30 PMChandigarh Comets vs Bhopal BadshahsChandigarh
March 1, 2012Thursday7:00 PMSher-E-Punjab vs Chennai CheetahsJalandhar
March 1, 2012Thursday9:00 PMMumbai Marines vs Pune StrykersMumbai
March 2, 2012Friday7:00 PMDelhi Wizards vs Karnataka LionsDelhi
March 2, 2012Friday9:00 PMMumbai Marines vs Bhopal BadshahsMumbai
March 3, 2012Saturday5:00 PMSher-E-Punjab vs Karnataka LionsJalandhar
March 3, 2012Saturday7:00 PMChandigarh Comets vs Chennai CheetahsChandigarh
March 3, 2012Saturday9:00 PMDelhi Wizards vs Pune StrykersDelhi
March 4, 2012Sunday7:00 PMSher-E-Punjab vs Pune StrykersJalandhar
March 4, 2012Sunday9:00 PMMumbai Marines vs Chandigarh CometsMumbai
March 5, 2012Monday7:00 PMKarnataka Lions vs Bhopal BadshahsBengaluru
March 5, 2012Monday9:00 PMDelhi Wizards vs Chennai CheetahsDelhi
March 6, 2012Tuesday7:00 PMChennai Cheetahs vs Mumbai MarinesChennai
March 6, 2012Tuesday9:00 PMKarnataka Lions vs Chandigarh CometsBengaluru
March 7, 2012Wednesday7:00 PMSher-E-Punjab vs Delhi WizardsJalandhar
March 7, 2012Wednesday9:00 PMPune Strykers vs Bhopal BadshahsPune
March 8, 2012Thursday7:00 PMChandigarh Comets vs Sher-E-PunjabChandigarh
March 8, 2012Thursday9:00 PMKarnataka Lions vs Mumbai MarinesBengaluru
March 9, 2012Friday7:00 PMChennai Cheetahs vs Pune StrykersChennai
March 9, 2012Friday9:00 PMBhopal Badshahs vs Delhi WizardsBhopal
March 10, 2012Saturday7:00 PMChennai Cheetahs vs Karnataka LionsChennai
March 10, 2012Saturday9:00 PMBhopal Badshahs vs Sher-E-PunjabBhopal
March 11, 2012Sunday7:00 PMPune Strykers vs Chandigarh CometsPune
March 11, 2012Sunday9:00 PMMumbai Marines vs Delhi WizardsMumbai
March 12, 2012Monday7:00 PMPune Strykers vs Karnataka LionsPune
March 12, 2012Monday9:00 PMBhopal Badshahs vs Chennai CheetahsBhopal
March 14, 2012Wednesday7:00 PMMumbai Marines vs Sher-E-PunjabMumbai
March 14, 2012Wednesday9:00 PMDelhi Wizards vs Chandigarh CometsDelhi
March 15, 2012Thursday7:00 PMPune Strykers vs Chennai CheetahsPune
March 15, 2012Thursday9:00 PMDelhi Wizards vs Bhopal BadshahsDelhi
March 16, 2012Friday7:00 PMSher-E-Punjab vs Chandigarh CometsJalandhar
March 16, 2012Friday9:00 PMMumbai Marines vs Karnataka LionsMumbai
March 17, 2012Saturday7:00 PMSher-E-Punjab vs Bhopal BadshahsJalandhar
March 17, 2012Saturday9:00 PMKarnataka Lions vs Chennai CheetahsBengaluru
March 19, 2012Monday7:00 PMChandigarh Comets vs Pune StrykersChandigarh
March 19, 2012Monday9:00 PMDelhi Wizards vs Mumbai MarinesDelhi
March 20, 2012Tuesday7:00 PMChandigarh Comets vs Delhi WizardsChandigarh
March 20, 2012Tuesday9:00 PMChennai Cheetahs vs Bhopal BadshahsChennai
March 21, 2012Wednesday7:00 PMSher-E-Punjab vs Mumbai MarinesJalandhar
March 21, 2012Wednesday9:00 PMKarnataka Lions vs Pune StrykersBengaluru
March 23, 2012Friday7:00 PMPune Strykers vs Mumbai MarinesPune
March 23, 2012Friday9:00 PMKarnataka Lions vs Sher-E-PunjabBengaluru
March 24, 2012Saturday7:00 PMBhopal Badshahs vs Chandigarh CometsBhopal
March 24, 2012Saturday9:00 PMKarnataka Lions vs Delhi WizardsBengaluru
March 25, 2012Sunday7:00 PMChennai Cheetahs vs Sher-E-PunjabChennai
March 25, 2012Sunday9:00 PMBhopal Badshahs vs Mumbai MarinesBhopal
March 26, 2012Monday7:00 PMChennai Cheetahs vs Chandigarh CometsChennai
March 26, 2012Monday9:00 PMPune Strykers vs Delhi WizardsPune
March 27, 2012Tuesday7:00 PMPune Strykers vs Sher-E-PunjabPune
March 27, 2012Tuesday9:00 PMBhopal Badshahs vs Karnataka LionsBhopal
March 28, 2012Wednesday7:00 PMChandigarh Comets vs Mumbai MarinesChandigarh
March 28, 2012Wednesday9:00 PMChennai Cheetahs vs Delhi WizardsChennai
March 29, 2012Thursday7:00 PMChandigarh Comets vs Karnataka LionsChandigarh
March 29, 2012Thursday9:00 PMBhopal Badshahs vs Pune StrykersBhopal
March 30, 2012Friday7:00 PMDelhi Wizards vs Sher-E-PunjabDelhi
March 30, 2012Friday9:00 PMMumbai Marines vs Chennai CheetahsMumbai
April 1, 2012Sunday6:00 PMSemi Final 1
April 1, 2012Sunday8:30 PMSemi Final 2
April 2, 2012Monday8:00 PMFinal vs


Nine venues were chosen to host the matches played by the eight teams in the World Series Hockey. The following cities will host the matches in the 2011-12 edition.

  • Delhi
  • Mumbai
  • Pune
  • Bhopal
  • Jalandhar
  • Chandigarh
  • Hyderabad
  • Bangalore
  • Chennai

Prize Money

The total prize money at the inaugural edition of the World Series Hockey exceeds Rs. 10 crores.

Final Positions

  • Champions: Rs. 4 Crores
  • Runners-up: Rs. 2 Crores
  • Third Place: Rs. 1 Crore
  • Fourth Place: Rs. 1 Crore

Apart from the team prizes, individual prizes will also be awarded to best performers in the series.

  • WSH Rockstar (Most Valuable Player): Rs. 1 Crore
  • Indian Super Star (Star Indian Player): Rs. 50 Lakhs
  • Golden Stick (Highest Goal Scorer): Rs. 25 Lakhs
  • Game Changer (Best Midfielder, Defender or Goal Keeper): Rs. 25 Lakhs
  • Rookie of the Year (Best emerging player under 21): Rs. 10 Lakhs

Exhibition Match

An Exhibition Match between World XI and India XI was played on December 20, 2011. The World XI beat India XI by 7-2.

World XI: Joseph Reardon (10th), Roderik Huber (32nd), Connon Grimes (38th), Pheiie Maguire (40th), Peter Kelly (55th, 59th) and David Seddon (67th).
Indian XI: Deepak Thakur (17th) and Dhanraj Pillay (28th)


WSH India XI: Prabhjot Singh (capt), Baljit Singh, Diwakar Ram, Harpal Singh, Prabhdh Tirkey, Jswinder Singh, Dhanraj Pillay, Deepak Thakur, Bikash Toppo, Preetinderpal Singh, Sher Singh.

WSH World XI: Brent Livermore (capt), Devesh Chauhan, Robert Green, Jiwas Mohan, Gunther Mik, Benediki Sperling, Chris Seddon, Melchior Looijen, Eli Mathenson, Jesse Mahieu, Connors Grimes.

World Series Hockey 2011-12 in News

Hockey India to conduct International Men Hockey League
Hockey India shall be conducting the International Men Hockey League under the aegis of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) from 2013.

Pak hockey players won't be allowed to take part in Indian WSH
Despite the International Hockey Federation (FIH) no longer having any problem with the Indian Hockey Federation-organised World Series Hockey (WSH), the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) has said it will not allow its players to be a part of the league, unless it has also been recognised by Hockey India.

Comment on this story