Home » Features » Politics » Direct Benefits Transfer scheme

Direct Benefits Transfer scheme

The Direct Benefits Transfer, also called Direct Cash Transfer, is a scheme of the UPA-II government. The pilot phase of the scheme was launched in 20 districts across six States starting on 1 January 2013. The number of districts covered and schemes to be covered have been scaled down in the pilot phase.

Pilot Phase

The pilot phase was inaugurated on 1 January 2013. Initial reports suggested that much work needs to be done to make the programme a success. The basic requirement for the beneficiaries i.e. having an Aadhaar-linked bank account is still lagging in many of the districts in the pilot phase.

The pilot phase is launched in Mumbai and Vidarbha in Maharashtra, Mysore in Karnataka, five districts in Andhra Pradesh, Ambala and Sonepat in Haryana, two districts in Delhi, Alwar, Udaipur and Ajmer in Rajasthan.

Union Minister for Rural Development Jairam Ramesh launches the Direct Benefit Transfer scheme at Gollaprolu in East Godavari district. He said Aadhar enrolment will be completed in the State by end of August and the DBT scheme will be extended to all the districts. Jan 6, 2013

Direct Benefits Transfer scheme in News

Direct Cash Transfer scheme fails to take off in the State
DCT will be launched in East Godavari on January 6

Comment on this story