Home » Features » Politics » Lok Satta Party

Lok Satta Party

Lok Satta is a national political party based in Andhra Pradesh. It was launched on October 2, 2006 by Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan who was a former IAS officer. JP is the national president of the party.

2009 Elections

Lok Satta entered the election fray in the 2009 elections.It contested in four Assembly seats in the 2009 elections and won Kukatpally constituency.

2012 Elections

Lok Satta Party has won six of the nine seats in Adele village panchayat elections in Maharashtra. The elections were held on December 23, 2012. The party contested in eight of the nine seats.

2014 Elections

Lok Satta party is contesting several seats in the 2012 elections. Party president Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan is contesting Malkajgiri Parliamentary constituency, the largest constituency in the country.

Lok Satta Party in News

'Both States should work together', says Lok Satta chief Jaya Prakash Narayan
Dr Jaya Prakash Narayan pledges constructive cooperation to the newly formed Telangana Government headed by K Chandrasekhar Rao

'Direct election to Chief Minster', advocates Dr Jayaprakash Narayana
Jayaprakash Narayan said politicians are more interested in getting to power rather than concentrating on welfare and development of people

'Rahul Gandhi's loan waiver offer irresponsible', says Jayaprakash Narayan
Jayaprakash Narayan questions Rahul Gandhi as to whether he has done any homework before announcing such offers to farmers

Jana Sena founder Pawan Kalyan gives slip to Lok Satta chief Jayaprakash Narayan
TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu meet Pawan Kalyan and requested for his support

Jana Sena founder Pawan Kalyan extends support to TDP
Jana Sena founder and film actor Pawan Kalyan who invited Telugu Desam Party chief Nara Chandrababu Naidu for a cup of a tea at his residence in Hyderabad on Wednesday announced of his support to TDP

Lok Satta to intensify electoral campaign from April 23
Lok Satta Party (LSP) has decided to intensify its electoral campaign in Seemandhra from April 23

Lok Satta Party releases final list of candidates
Lok Satta Party contesting for 73 Assembly seats in Seemandhra

Jana Sena Party may field candidates independently
Pawan Kalyan irked at TDP denying Potluri Vara Prasad ticket for Vijayawada Lok Sabha

Jana Sena chief Pawan to share dais with BJP's Narendra Modi
Bharatiya Janata Party official spokesperson Prakash Javadekar said that the party prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi and Jana Sena Party founder and film actor Pawan Kalyan will share a dais at a meeting in Telangana

'We will support NDA', says Jayaprakash Narayan
Lok Satta Party national president Dr Jaya Prakash Narayan said that the party will field its candidates in 45 Assembly and one Lok Sabha in Telangana

'One crore employment in a year is the party motto', says Lok Satta chief
Lok Satta Party president Dr Jayaprakash Narayan said that the aim and motto of the party is to create one crore employment in an year in the country

Purandeswari appointed convener of BJP Election Campaign Committee
Daggubati Purandeswari has been appointed convener of the party’s election campaign committee for Seemandhra.

AAP in collision course with LSP
Aam Aadmi Party and Lok Satta Party are on a collision course with the former deciding to field or support a candidate against Dr.Jayaprakash Narayan

Lok Satta Party releases 12 point Election Manifesto
Jayaprakash Narayan released a 12 point election manifesto for the Assembly elections

Governor orders probe into PGMET 2014 malpractice
Governor ESL Narasimhan has ordered a probe into the alleged irregularities in the Post Graduate Medical Entrance Test (PGMET) 2014

'Lok Satta is the real alternative to customary political parties', says State president Katari
Lok Satta Party sees that it would be a third alternative to the customary real political parties

Lok Satta Party releases Municipal Elections manifesto
Lok Satta Party national president Dr. Jayaprakash Narayan on Tuesday released the election manifesto

Lok Satta chief kick starts election campaign
Dr. Jayaprakash Narayana kick started the party's election campaign on Tuesday in Tirupati

Lok Satta forms committees for Seemandhra and Telangana
Lok Satta Party forms committees for Telangana State and Andhra Pradesh State

Adianta School for Leadership and Innovation to Host DESIGN PUBLIC
Adianta School of Leadership and Innovation is setting up the stage for yet another conclave to establish a dialogue around innovation with ‘Design Public’

'Lok Satta party to challenge Centre's move to exempt political parties from the ambit of RTI,' says JP
Lok Satta favors political parties to be under RTI

'Strong and independent Lok Ayukta at the state level is needed to eradicate corruption', says JP
JP says good quality education should be provided irrespective of caste or religion as a tribute to Ambedkar

Assembly adjourned for second day in a row without any business
TRS says there is unanimity on Telangana issue as TDP and YSR CP are willing to support resolution on Telangana state

Opposition demands immediate roll back of hike in diesel prices and subsidization of LPG
Opposition parties stage protests demanding immediate roll back of fuel prices

Andhra Pradesh News on September 12, 2012
Andhra Pradesh News and Headlines on September 12, 2012

Andhra Pradesh News on June 23, 2012
Andhra Pradesh News and Headlines on June 23, 2012 - India Cements MD Srinivasan appears before CBI

Jayaprakash Narayan begins Satyagraha march
Lok Satta President Jayaprakash Naryan launches Satyagraha march from Yemmiganur in Kurnool district

Andhra Pradesh News on February 18, 2012
Andhra Pradesh News and Headlines on February 18, 2012

Voting underway for Andhra by-polls
Polling is underway in the crucial by-elections to 18 assembly segments and one Lok Sabha constituency in Andhra Pradesh on Tuesday.

Andhra Pradesh News on December 17, 2011
Andhra Pradesh News and Headlines on December 17, 2011.

Jayaprakash Narayan speaks on no-confidence motion
Lok Satta party leader Jayapraaksh Narayan speaks about no-confidence motion in the assembly

Andhra Pradesh News on October 22, 2011
Andhra Pradesh News and Headlines on October 22, 2011.

Andhra Pradesh News on September 26, 2011
Andhra Pradesh News and Headlines on September 26, 2011.

April 24, 2011 in Andhra Pradesh
A glimpse of events and happenings in Andhra Pradesh on April 24, 2011.

February 18, 2011 in Andhra Pradesh
A glimpse of events and happenings in Andhra Pradesh on February 18, 2011

Andhra Pradesh Assembly Budget Session 2011 - Day 1
The budget session of the AP Assembly will begin today.

Outcome of no confidence vote exposed Congress and Opposition, says Reddy
Yuvajana Sramika Rythu (YSR) Congress chief Jagan Mohan Reddy on Tuesday said the outcome of the vote of no confidence in the Andhra Pradesh assembly has exposed the real nature of the ruling Congress and the Opposition party, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

Manohar Reddy elected Andhra Assembly Speaker
Congress leader Nadendla Manohar Reddy was on Saturday elected as Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

Comment on this story