Home » Features » Politics » Karnataka Janata Party

Karnataka Janata Party

Karnataka Janata Party is the political party formed by former Karnataka Chief Minister and BJP leader B S Yeddyurappa. Yeddyurappa announced the party on November 30, 2012 after he resigned to BJP party membership and to his assembly membership. He formally launched the party on December 9, 2012 and took charge of it as President at a massive rally in Haveri.

Yeddyurappa claimed the support of a number of BJP leaders, including over two dozen ministers in the 34-member cabinet.

Formal Launch

The party was formally launched on December 9, 2012. A number of ruling BJP legislators who are owing allegiance to Yeddyurappa attended the rally threatening the survival of the Karnataka government. The launch rally was held in Haveri.

BJP legislators appear at the launch

Despite stern warnings from the BJP leadership, at least 10 legislators have attended the launch rally. Earlier before the rally, Yeddyurappa hosted a breakfast meeting which was attended by 21 BJP MLAs, seven MLCs and four Lok Sabha MPs. Pooja Gandhi, who was a politician of the JD(S), also joined the Karnataka Janata Party.

A day before the formal launch, the BJP has cracked the whip and sacked Cooperative Minister BJ Puttaswamy and Tumkur MP GS Basavaraj from the party on disciplinary reasons.

Politicians who are likely to join the Karnataka Janata Party


Former Karnataka Chief Minister DV Sadananda Gowda said that Yeddyurappa's decision to quit the BJP and former his own party will boomerang and erode his political clout in the state. On 1 December 2012 Sadananda Gowda said that the regional parties in the state will have little prospect.

Karnataka Janata Party in News

Karnataka Minister Puttaswamy and MP Basavaraj sacked from BJP
Karnataka Janata Party to be launched on Sunday at Haveri

Comment on this story