Home » Features » Politics » Government of India

Government of India

Government of India is the governing authority of the union of 29 Indian States and 7 Union Territories collectively known as Republic of India. The Government of India is also known as Union Government or Central Government.

NDA Government

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), a centre-right coalition of political parties formed the Government at Centre in 2014 after winning 336 seats out of the 543 parliamentary constituencies of the 16th Lok Sabha.

BJP leader Narendra Modi has taken oath as the 15th Prime Minister of India on May 26, 2014 at a ceremony held at Rastrapathi Bhavan. Along with him 46 council of ministers and minister of states also took oath.

Council of Ministers

Narendra Modi has chosen a 45-member Council of Ministers. Of these, 24 are Cabinet Ministers, 10 are Ministers of State with Independent Charge and the 12 Ministers of State. All the 46 members of the Cabinet took oath on May 26, 2014.

For the entire list of Ministers in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's cabinet, Check Narendra Modi's Cabinet

Oath Taking Ceremony

Narendra Modi has taken oath as Prime Minister of India at a ceremony held at the Rastrapathi Bhavan in New Delhi. Along with him, 24 Cabinet ministers, 10 Ministers of State with Independent Charge and 12 Ministers of State took oath.

Narendra Modi has stamped his authority in formation of Government by breaking the conventional experiments of giving ministerial berths to allies on how many MPs an ally has. He has also made a departure of dynasty politics by ignoring sons and daughters of prominent politicians. None of the members of his cabinet are above 75 years of age, thereby ignoring senior leaders like LK Advani and Murali Manohar Joshi. Modi has given ministerial berths to people in whom he has total faith. There are a number of young leaders like Smriti Irani and Nirmala Seetharaman in his cabinet as well as a number of women thus showing that he believes in women's empowerment.

Narendra Modi was dressed in a cream kurta and a fawn jacket with a tri colour brooch on his lapel. Modi received a long standing ovation when he arrived for the swearing-in. Special invitees for the ceremony including Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaska, Prime Minister of Bhutan Lyonchen Tshering Tobgay, Bangladesh Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, Afghanistan President Hamid Jarzai, Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala and Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom. Seated along with them in the first row are Vice President Hamid Ansari, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, former President Abdul Kalam, former President Pratibha Patil and Chief Justice of India RM Lodha. Celebrities and Businessmen who were part of the ceremony include Reliance Industries Chairman Mukesh Ambani, his wife Nita and two sons. Anil Ambani, and his family, and mother, Kokilaben, Hinduja group chairman Ashok Hinduja, Essar group chief Shashi Ruia and Chief executive officer Prashant Ruia, Mittal brothers Sunil, Rajan and Rakesh and Gujarat Industrialist Gautam Adani. Sportsmen Sunil Gavaskar, Indian cricket captain MS Dhoni were also present.


BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi takes oath as 15th Prime Minister of India. Along with him 46 Council of Ministers and Ministers of State takes oath to be part of Modi's cabinet. May 26, 2014

Assumes office
Prime Minister Narendra Modi and several of his Council of Ministers assumed charge of their respective offices. May 27, 2014

Controversial statement on repealing Article 370
Minister of State for Prime Minister's Office Jitendra Singh said that the Government has started speaking to stakeholders to repeal Article 370. Jitendra Singh said that the BJP has won more than half of the seats from Jammu and Kashmir which can be interpreted as endorsement of BJP's stand on Article 370. The repealing of the Act has been a poll promise of the BJP party. May 27, 2014

The statement generated a strong reaction from Jammu & Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah who tweeted, "Mark my words & save this tweet - long after Modi government is a distant memory either J&K won't be part of India or Art 370 will still exist." Omar Abdullah who has been opposing idea of repealing Article 370, said it was an irresponsible move by the new government.

Hours after Jitendra Singh's statement caused a huge political storm, he tried to limit the damage saying that he has been misquoted and that the whole controversy is baseless. "I seek to clarify that the reports in the media about my statement on Article 370 are misquoted. I have never said anything quoting the Honourable Prime Minister. The controversy is totally baseless," he said in a statement later. May 27, 2014

SIT on black money
In one of the first decisions taken by Narendra Modi's government, it has announced a SIT on black money case as per Supreme Court orders. Speaking to media after the first cabinet meeting, Ravi Shankar Prasad said that the Black money SIT will be headed by Justice MB Shah. The SIT will include CBI Director and DG Revenue Intelligence. May 27, 2014

Attorney General GE Vahanvati and SG Mohan Prasaran have tendered their resignations. May 27, 2014

Bharat Ratna
Government has ordered 5 Bharat Ratna medallions from the RBI Mint. Though the names of the receipients is unknown, speculation is rife that the government is planning to honor freedom fighter Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose and senior BJP leader Atal Behari Vajpayee. Aug 10, 2014

First anniversary of NDA government
Prime Minister Narendra Modi will announce new flagship schemes on 26 May 2015 to commemorate completion of first year in Government.

Comment on this story