Home » Features » Politics » 2012 Macherla Assembly Bye-Elections

2012 Macherla Assembly Bye-Elections

2012 By-elections

The 2012 Macherla Assembly Bye-Elections was held to elect the representative of Macherla constituency to the Andhra Pradesh assembly. The election was necessitated as MLA Pinelli Ramakrishna Reddy was disqualified by the Speaker Nadendla Manohar Reddy.

Pinelli Ramakrishna Reddy of the YSR Congress Party has won the by-election by a majority of 15,479 votes.

Total votes polled: 206,603
Total valid votes: 170,872


CandidatePartyVotes PolledMargin of victory
Pinelli Ramakrishna ReddyYSR Congress79,75115,479 votes
Ch Madhu BabuTDP64,272
Pinelli Laxma ReddyCongress19,065

Former MLA and YSR Congress Party candidate Pinelli Ramakrishna Reddy was the former MLA. He was disqualified by Speaker for violating the Government's whip in the no-confidence motion against government. He later resigned from the Congress party and joined the YSR Congress Party.

Election Results

  • 11:25 am: YSR Congress Party wins
  • 11:15 am: YSR CP leads by 11,111 votes
  • 10:45 am: Ninth Round - YSR Congress Party leads by 10,901 votes
  • 10:20 am: Eighth Round - YSR CP candidate leads by 11,133 votes
  • 10:18 am: Seventh Round - YSR CP leads by 9677 votes
  • 10:09 am: Sixth Round - YSR CP leads by 7769 votes
  • 9:59 am: Fifth Round - YSR CP leads by 6556 votes
  • 9:55 am: YSR CP leads
  • 9:25 am: Third Round - YSR Congress Party candidate Ramakrishna Reddy leads


May 18, 2012 - Pinelli Ramakrishna Reddy filed the first nomination for the Macherla constituency. After the notification for the by-poll was released on May 18, 2012 Ramakrishna Reddy offered special prayers at the Siva temple and submitted his nomination documents at 11:44 am.

2012 Macherla Assembly Bye-Elections in News

Andhra Pradesh News on May 22, 2012
Andhra Pradesh News and Headlines on May 22, 2012 - Hampi Express from Hubli to Bangalore collides with a stationary goods train at Penukonda

Ten nominations filed on first day for by-elections
Ten nominations were filed for 8 assembly and one lok sabha constituency for by-elections on the first day after the notification was issued

Comment on this story