Home » Features » » Star Screen Awards

Star Screen Awards

About Star Screen Awards

The Star Screen Awards are prestigious film awards presented for Indian movies and to its contributors.

14th Star Screen Awards 2008

Best Film: Chak De! India
Best Director: Shimit Amin (Chak De! India) and Aamir Khan (Taare Zameen Par)
Best Actor (Male): Shah Rukh Khan (Chak De India)
Best Actor (Female): Kareena Kapoor (Jab We Met)
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Aamir Khan (Taare Zameen Par)
Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female): Chak de! Girls (Chak De! India)
Best Actor In A Negative Role (Male/Female): Pankaj Kapur (The Blue Umbrella)
Best Actor in A Comic Role (Male/Female): Irfaan Khan (Life… In A Metro)
Best Background Music: A.R. Rahman (Guru)
Best Music: A.R. Rahman (Guru)
Best Playback Singer (Male): Soham: Inn dinon (Life In A…Metro)
Best Playback Singer (Female): Shreya Ghoshal: Barso re megha (Guru)
Best Lyrics: Prasoon Joshi: Maa (Taare Zameen Par)
Best Screenplay: Anurag Basu (Life… In A Metro)
Best Dialogue: Amol Gupte (Taare Zameen Par)
Best Editing: Amitabh Shukla (Chak De! India)
Best Sound: Bishwadeep Chatterjee ( Eklavya - The Royal Guard)
Best Cinematography: N. Nataraj Subramanium (Eklavya - The Royal Guard)
Best Special Effects: Red Chillies VFX (Om Shanti Om)
Best Art Direction: Nitin Chandrakant Desai (Gandhi My Father)
Best Choreography: Farah Khan - Dhoom Tana (Om Shanti Om)
Most Promising Newcomer (Male): Ranbir Kapoor (Saawariya)
Most Promising Newcomer (Female): Deepika Padukone (Om Shanti Om)
Most Promising Debut Director: Aamir Khan (Taare Zameen Par)
Best Child Artiste: Darsheel Safary (Taare Zameen Par)
Best Story: Amole Gupte (Taare Zameen Par)
Best Action: Tinu Verma (Apne)

Nokia 15th Star Screen Awards 2009

Best Film: Jodhaa Akbar
Best Director: Ashutosh Gowarikar - Jodhaa Akbar
Best Actor (Male): Hrithik Roshan - Jodhaa Akbar
Best Actor (Female): Priyanka Chopra - Fashion
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male): Arjun Rampal - Rock On!!
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female): Shahana Goswami - Rock On!!
Best Actor in a Negative Role (Male/Female): Akshaye Khanna - Race
Best Actor in a Comic Role (Male/Female): Tusshar Kapoor - Golmaal Returns
Best Background Music: A. R. Rahman - Jodhaa Akbar
Best Music: A. R. Rahman - Jaane Tu… Ya Jaane Na
Best Playback Singer (Male): KK - Khuda Jaane (Bachna Ae Haseeno)
Best Playback Singer (Female): Shilpa Rao - Khuda Jaane (Bachna Ae Haseeno)
Best Lyrics: Anvita Dutt Guptan - Khuda Jaane (Bachna Ae Haseeno)
Most Promising Newcomer (Male): Farhan Akhtar - Rock On!!
Most Promising Newcomer (Female): Asin Thottumkal - Ghajini
Best Story: Neeraj Pandey - A Wednesday!
Best Screenplay: Shiraz Ahmed - Race
Best Editing: Rock On!!
Best Choreography: Raju Khan - Jodhaa Akbar
Best Art Direction: Rock On!!
Best Cinematography: Rock On!!
Most Popular Actor Award: Akshay Kumar - Singh Is Kinng
Most Popular Actress Award: Aishwarya Rai - Jodhaa Akbar
Best Animation Film: Roadside Romeo Jodi No 1 Award: John Abraham - Abhishek Bachchan (Dostana)
Most Promising Debut Director: Neeraj Pandey - A Wednesday!
Lifetime Achievement Award: Sanjay Khan
Ramnath Goenka Award: A Wednesday!

Star Screen Awards in News

Sunidhi Chauhan to perform in Muscat next month
Bollywood melody star Sunidhi Chauhan is set to perform for Indian music aficionados in Muscat, the capital city of Oman, next month.

Zee's 2011 Cine Awards Delivers the Biggest South Asian Programming Rating Since April of Last Year
The 2011 Zee Cine Awards aired in the United States on Friday, February 4th at 9 pm ET on Zee TV. A Red Carpet Special at 8:30 pm ET featured entrances and interviews of award nominees along with Bollywood's biggest stars as they made their way into the venue. The Zee Cine Awards has remained a proud Bollywood tradition since 1998.

Comment on this story