Home » Features » Events » Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2012

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2012

The Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2012 were held to elect the government for the state of Uttar Pradesh.

Possible Contestants

The Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2012 is contested by the Bahujan Samaj Party, Samajwadi Party, Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress, Rashtriya Lok Dal and Rashtriya Parivartan Dal among others.


The counting of polls started in the morning on March 6, 2012. The following are the leaders/results in the Uttar Pradesh polls.

Partial leads/results. Counting in progress.

Samajwadi Party + 221199
Bahujan Samaj Party + 7496
Bharatiya Janata Party + 4749
Congress + 3847

Farmers' agitation over land acquisition

May 18, 2011: Rahul Gandhi of Congress party has openely declared his intention to oust the current Bahujan Samaj Party in the 2012 assembly election. On May 18, 2011 Rahul Gandhi said that the Congress party would go to every village of the state and fight for ousting the government. Congress leaders Digvijay Singh and Salman Khurshid also accused the BSP government of neglecting development directed to help the poor and lower caste people.

The Bharatiya Janata Party also demanded a Joint Parliamentary Committee probe into the land acquisition row.

2007 Assembly election

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) led by Mayawati won the 2007 Assembly Elections winning 206 out of 403 seats in the assembly. Samajwadi Party won 97, BJP - 21 and Congress - 22 in the 2007 elections. Mayawati became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the fourth time.

Comment on this story