Home » Features » Events » 2012 - Congress Ministers to resign from Government in West Bengal

2012 - Congress Ministers to resign from Government in West Bengal

Indian National Congress

The Six Congress ministers in the government led by Trinamool Congress in West Bengal have resignied on September 22, 2012 and withdrew the party's support to the government. The ministers handed over their resignation letters to Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and will also meet Governor MK Narayanan to withdraw support to the government.

Congress Ministers Resign

The West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee (WBPCC) met on September 22 and sought an appointment with Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. The ministers led by Irrigation Minister Manas Bhunia have handed over their resignations at the CM's office in Kolkata. At a press conference earlier, WBPCC president Pradip Bhattacharya said that the resignations are in reply to TMC pulling out of the UPA government at the centre. After the party meeting at Bidhan Bhavan, WBPCC president Pradip Bhattacharya said, " Our six ministers in the state government will submit their resignations to Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee at 5:00 PM"

No threat to Government

The Congress party withdrawing its support for the government will not have any impact on the stability of Mamata Banerjee's government in West Bengal as Trinamool Congress holds a comfortable majority in the 294-seat West Bengal Legislative Assembly. The Congress has 42 members in the Assembly, 2 more than the Communist Party of India (Marxist)'s 40. They could seek the position of leader of the opposition. Trinamool Congress holds 184 constituencies and is not dependent on any other party to survive.

Comment on this story