Home » Features » Events » Bihar Legislative Assembly Election 2010

Bihar Legislative Assembly Election 2010

The Bihar Legislative Assembly Election is being held in 6 phases over a period of one month starting from October 21, 2010 until November 20, 2010 in all 243 constituencies of Bihar.

The BJP - JDU coalition has won a spectacular 206 seats out of 243 in the Elections. Janata Dal United alone won 115 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party bagged 91 seats. The Rashtriya Janata Dal won 22, while Congress could only win 4 seats.

Senior BJP Leader Arun Jaitley has described the Bihar Election Results as a victory of meritorious leadership over dynastic politics. Another BJP Leader Shahnawaz Hussain has said the people of Bihar have voted for development.

On November 26, 2010, Nitish Kumar took oath as the Chief Minister for a consecutive second term. Sushil Kumar Modi was sworn as the Deputy Chief Minister.

Bihar Legislative Assembly Election 2010 in News

Nitish Kumar to be sworn-in as Bihar CM today
Nitish Kumar will be sworn-in as Bihar Chief Minister for the second term on Friday.

BJP observers to elect Legislature Party leader in Bihar
A meeting of the newly-elected Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislators in Bihar is scheduled to be held here today to elect the leader of the legislature party.

Sharad Yadav hails victory of NDA in Bihar
Hailing the victory of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in the Bihar Assembly polls, Janata Dal-United (JD-U) President Sharad Yadav on Wednesday said the results are the outcome of the socio-economic development programme implemented by the Nitish Kumar-led coalition government in the state.

Lalu's worries will increase after Bihar poll results: Nitish Kumar
With the counting of votes for 243 Bihar Assembly seats scheduled for tomorrow, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Tuesday asserted that the poll results would add to Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad Yadav's troubles.

Bihar polls: Voting begins for final phase
Polling for the sixth and the final phase of Bihar elections began in 26 of the 243 assemblies on Saturday morning.

Elaborate security in place for last phase of Bihar Assembly polls
Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure a free and fair poll during the sixth and last phase of Bihar Assembly elections on Saturday.

Campaigning for final phase of Bihar assembly elections ends today
Campaigning for the sixth and last phase of Bihar Assembly elections comes to end this evening.

Non-Congress Governments responsible for Bihar's backwardness: Sonia Gandhi
Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Wednesday held the non-Congress Governments during the past 20 years in Bihar responsible for its backwardness.

Biharis are shining, not Bihar: Rahul Gandhi
Congress General Secretary Rahul Gandhi has again disputed the claims of development under the NDA government in Bihar, and said it is Biharis who are shinning all over India rather, than Bihar.

Comment on this story