Home » Features » Buildings Structures » Andhra Pradesh Secretariat

Andhra Pradesh Secretariat

The Andhra Pradesh Secretariat is the office of the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh and his Cabinet. It is located near Hussain Sagar Lake.

The Andhra Pradesh Secretariat was initially known as Saifabad Palace. It was built in 1888 during the reign of the Sixth Nizam of Hyderabad, Mir Mahbub Ali Khan. The old buildings were replaced with the new buildings. The then Chief Minister named each building in Telugu but that was practice was discontinued and now each new building is recognized as a block represented by English alphabet but not in order.


A Block

Minorities welfare Department and Home Department

B Block

Some sections of General Administration Department

C Block

(NTR named it SAMATHA) accommodates the office of the Chief Minister and Chief Secretary to Government and some sections of General Administration Department.

D Block

Animal Husbandry, Agriculture and Co-operation, Social Welfare, Finance, Industries and Commerce, Energy, Environment, Science and Technology, Finance and Information Technology Departments

G Block

Heritage building

H Block

The office of Chief Electoral Officer, the Official Language Commission, Central Library are in southern wing of H Block whereas the office of the Vigilance Commission, Andhra Pradesh Secretariat Association and Secretariat Employees Co-operative Housing Society are there in northern wing of H Block.

J Block

(NTR named it SUJALA), Law Department, Higher Education, School Education, Transport, Roads and Buildings, Irrigation and Command Area Development Department

K Block

(NTR named it SUBHODHA as it accommodated Education Department then), Central Cash Sections of Finance Department, Andhra Pradesh Secretariat Employees Co-operative Credit Society, Secretariat Branch of Pay and Accounts Office, Telegraph Office and Post Office.

L Block

(NTR named it SAMPREETHI and then it accommodated Finance Department) Municipal Administration and Urban Development, Labour, Women Development and Child Welfare, Health, Medical and Family Welfare, Planning, Housing, Revenue, Panchayat Raj and Rural Development Departments.

Wi-Fi facility

The entire premises of the Andhra Pradesh Secretariat will be provided with Wi-Fi facility. IT Minister Ponnala Lakshmaiah announced on 12 October 2012 that along with free Wi-Fi facility, the Secretariat will also have a 'Mee Seva' centre setup. The Wi-Fi facility was initially available only for few floors in the Chief Minister's C Block.

Andhra Pradesh Secretariat in News

Andhra Pradesh News on October 12, 2012
Andhra Pradesh News and Headlines on October 12, 2012

Comment on this story