Home » Features » Badminton » Indian Badminton League

Indian Badminton League

The Indian Badminton League (IBL) is a franchise-based badminton tournament on the lines of Indian Premier League (IPL) of cricket. Top shuttlers from across the world are expected to participate in the Indian Badminton League.

The Indian Badminton League is a joint initiative of the Badminton Association of India (BAI) and Sporty Solutionz Private Ltd. According to the organizers the BWF has provided a clear window on the annual calendar for IBL.

The IBL will start from 2013 and carries a $1 million prize. The first season of the tournament will be held from 24 June to 11 July 2013. Six city-based teams will participate in the initial season.

Top-ranked badminton players from around the world will play in six city-based franchises.


Each player would be contracted for five years and would play at one franchise for two years.

Malaysia and Indonesia have confirmed that the top players from the country will participate in the Indian Badminton League. The Organizers of the IBL have approach China who is yet to confirm their participation.

Icon Players

Five Indian players have been announced as the icon players for the six city-based franchise outfits of the Indian Badminton League. Indian Olympic bronze medalist Saina Nehwal is one among the icon players. Apart from Saina Nehwal, the other icon players carry a base price of $50,000. Men's singles quarter finalist at the 2012 London Olympics Parupalli Kashyap, Bronze medal winning women's doubles team Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa and PV Sindhu are the other icon players.

Base Price

Icon Players: All icon players apart from Saina Nehwal carry a base price of $50,000.

Indian players ranked in top 20: $20,000

Indian International players: $10,000

Indian national players: $5,000

Indian junior players: $3,000

Foreign Players ranked in top 10: $25,000

Foreign Players ranked in 11-25: $15,000

Foreign Players ranked above 25: $5,000


The IBL features six cities in the inaugural season. Eight cities - Delhi, Nagpur, Pune, Mumbai, Lucknow, Chennai, Hyderabad and Bangalore have been shortlisted, out of which six cities will make the final cut. The base price for each of the franchise is set at Rs. 3.5 crore.


There will be 25 league matches, 2 semi-finals and a final.

Each city-based franchise can have up to four foreign players. Two will be available to play best-of-five ties.

Each franchise will play at least five ties.

Each franchise will have teams as follows:

  • Men's singles - 2
  • Women's singles - 2
  • Men's doubles- 3
  • Women's doubles - 2
  • Mixed doubles - 2

Prize Money

The prize money for the initial season is set at $1 million. Only the winner and the runner-up teams will win the prize money in the ratio 65:35.

Season 1

The inaugural season of Indian Badminton League is in 2013.

Tournament dates: June 24, 2013 to July 11, 2013

Prize money: $1 million

Number of teams: 6 city-based franchises

Comment on this story