Home » Features » Awards » Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology

The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology is awarded annually by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) for notable and outstanding research, applied or fundamental, in biology, chemistry, environmental science, engineering, mathematics, medicine and Physics. The purpose of the prize is to recognize outstanding Indian work in science and technology.

It is the highest award for science in India and is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar. It was first awarded in 1958.


Any citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years is eligible for the Prize. The Prize is awarded on the basis of contributions made through work done primarily in India during the five years preceding the year of the Prize. The Prize comprises a citation, a plaque, and a cash award of Rs. 500,000. In addition recipients also get Rs. 15,000 per month up to the age of 65 years.


Names of candidates may be proposed by a member of the governing body of CSIR, heads of universities or institutes of national importance, deans of different faculties and former awardees.


Awards will be given in the following categories.

  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemical Sciences
  • Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences
  • Engineering Sciences
  • Mathematical Sciences
  • Medical Sciences
  • Physical Sciences

Till 2011

Till 2011, 474 scientists have received the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology.

2011 Awards

Three scientists from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc.) have been selected for the 2012 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize. The awards were announced at the 70th foundation day of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research in New Delhi on September 26, 2012.

Biological Sciences

  • Dr Amit Prakash Sharma
  • Dr Rajan Sankaranarayanan

Chemical Sciences

  • Dr Balasubramanian Sundaram
  • Dr Garikapati Narahari Sastry

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean & Planetary Sciences

  • Dr Shankar Doraiswamy

Engineering Sciences

  • Dr Sirshendu De
  • Dr Upadrasta Ramamurty

Mathematical Sciences

  • Dr Mahan Mj
  • Dr Palash Sarkar

Medical Sciences

  • Dr Kithiganahalli Narayanaswamy Balaji

Physical Sciences

  • Dr Shiraz Minwalla

Comment on this story