Home » Features » Awards » 2012 National Book Awards

2012 National Book Awards

The 2012 National Book Awards will honor one book annually in each of four categories – fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people's literature. American Bookseller Association will honor two lifetime achievement awards for "Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters" and the "Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community".


Twenty finalists were chosen by the National Book Awards. The finalists were announced on 10 October 2012. Each finalist will get $1000, plaque and a burst for their book cover.


  • Junot Díaz, This Is How You Lose Her
  • Dave Eggers, A Hologram for the King
  • Louise Erdrich, The Round House
  • Ben Fountain, Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk
  • Kevin Powers, The Yellow Birds


  • Anne Applebaum, Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe, 1945-1956
  • Katherine Boo, Behind the Beautiful Forevers: Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity
  • Robert A. Caro, The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson, Volume 4
  • Domingo Martinez, The Boy Kings of Texas
  • Anthony Shadid, House of Stone: A Memoir of Home, Family, and a Lost Middle East


  • David Ferry, Bewilderment: New Poems and Translations
  • Cynthia Huntington, Heavenly Bodies
  • Tim Seibles, Fast Animal
  • Alan Shapiro, Night of the Republic
  • Susan Wheeler, Meme

Young People's Literature

  • William Alexander, Goblin Secrets
  • Carrie Arcos, Out of Reach
  • Patricia McCormick, Never Fall Down
  • Eliot Schrefer, Endangered

Comment on this story