Home » Features » Awards » 2010 Nobel Prizes

2010 Nobel Prizes

About 2010 Nobel Prizes

The following people were awarded the Nobel Prize in 2010.

Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine

Robert Geoffrey Edwards, a British physiologist and pioneer in reproductive medicine, and in-vitro fertilization has won the 2010 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. He won the Nobel Prize for the development of in vitro fertilization. On October 4, 2010, the Swedish Academy of Sciences has announced that Dr. Edwards will be awarded the Nobel for his work in vitro fertilization.

Dr. Edwards has earlier won the Albert Lasker Clinical Medical Research Award in 2001 and has been ranked No. 26 in the The Daily Telegraph's list of 100 greatest living geniuses.

Nobel Prize for Physics

Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov won the 2010 Nobel Prize in Physics for their experiments on graphene. The scientists will split the prize money of 1.4 million dollars. In a statement, the Royal Academy said, "Carbon, the basis of all known life on earth, has surprised us once again.

Nobel Prize for Literature

Mario Vargas Llosa won the 2010 Nobel Prize for Literature. Vargas Llosa won the award "for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt and defeat".

Nobel Prize for Peace

Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo who is jailed has won the 2010 Nobel Prize for Peace. Liu is currently serving his sentence at Jinzhou prison in Liaoning. Liu won the award "for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China."

Comment on this story