AndhraNews.net
Home » Business News » 2014 » August » August 18, 2014

The 2014 Geekie Winners(R), Are Revealed: Complete List of Winners From Top Leaders in Entertainment, Gaming, Comics, Art & Fashion Are Named


August 18, 2014 - Hollywood, CA

The Geekie Awards®, an award show by geeks for geeks™ tonight (Sunday, August 17, 2014) presented the 2014 Geekie Awards for programing, gaming and individual achievement at the Avalon Hotel in Hollywood. The ceremony of the 2nd annual Geekie Awards®, honored talented independent creators and give them the opportunity to receive recognition in front of a worldwide audience and leaders in entertainment, gaming, comics, art, and fashion.

The 2014 Geekie Tonight's awards were live-streamed via Twitch on Sunday, August 17, 2014 at 6:00pm PST: http://www.twitch.tv/thegeekieawards. Gibson Brands, Inc. served as the presenting brand and, along with many other top companies, will be providing gifts such as custom-designed guitars for celebrity signing on-site for a public charity auction. Proceeds from the auction will be given to The Jim Henson Foundation.

"It makes me smile to see so many talented people get recognized, some for the first time, on our show," said Kristen Nedopak, Showrunner for The Geekie Awards®, "Especially in front of their idols and people we all look up to -- that's what The Geekie Awards®, is all about. It was a special night, and we look forward to working with each of our winners throughout the year, and we will continue to promote their work."

A complete list of all awards presented tonight along with links is below:

2014 Geekie Award®, Winners:

Stan Lee Lifetime Achievement (presented by POW! Entertainment, Inc)

Gail Anne Hurd (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/industry/stan-lee-lifetime-achievement-gale-anne-hurd/)

Geek of the Year (presented by Gibson)

LeVar Burton (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/industry/geek-of-the-year-levar-burton/)

Geek Cred (presented by WowWee)

Oculus VR® (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/industry/geek-cred-oculus-rift/)

Indie Video Games (presented by inXile Entertainment)

The Banner Saga (www.thegeekieawards.com/the-banner-saga/)

Web Series (presented by Sci-Fi Alliance)

Star Trek Continues (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/star-trek-continues)

Short Films (presented by Doritos)

The Hitchhiker (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/the-hitchhiker/)

Trailers & Videos (presented by Mountain Dew)

Legends of the Knight (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/legends-of-the-knight/)

Podcasts & Vlogs (presented by TASCAM)

Talkin' Comics Weekly (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/talkin-comics-weekly/)

Comics & Graphic Novels (presented by Dark Horse Comics)

Oh, Hell (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/oh-hell/)

Tabletop Games (presented by Gam3rCon)

Belfort (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/belfort/)

Art & Craft (presented by Soulcake)

J.W. Kinsey's Artifice (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/the-work-of-j-w-kinseys-artifice/)

Fashion & Armor (presented by Vanichi)

Castle Corsetry (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/castle-corsetry/ )

Cosplay (presented by Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab)

Big Daddy (http://www.thegeekieawards.com/bioshock-big-daddy-bouncer/ )

Websites & Blogs (presented by WebMovement)

Screen Rant (www.thegeekieawards.com/screen-rant/ )

Personality (presented by New Media Rockstars)

Jenny Lorenzo (www.thegeekieawards.com/jenny-lorenzo/)

The Geekie Awards®, would like to acknowledge the 2014 Sponsors:

Gibson Brands Inc, POW! Entertainment Inc, WowWee, Pizza Hut, Mountain Dew, Doritos, WebMovement LLC, Gam3rCon, Dark Horse Comics Inc, Soulcake, Sci-Fi Alliance, Loot Crate, Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab, Vicious Entertainment, 3D Systems, Live U, IndieFlix, Joystiq, Vanichi, ITVFest, San Diego Comic Fest, International Academy of Web Television (IAWTV) Jackson Limousine and Krypton Radio.

About The Geekie Awards®:
The Geekie Awards®, an award show by geeks for geeks™, is aimed at placing the geek culture in the spotlight as a collection of valid, respected, award-winning genres for storytelling and creation. In an industry filled with award shows for established celebrities, we honor talented, independent creators and give them the opportunity to receive recognition in front of a worldwide audience and leaders in their respective industries. The Geekie Awards®, inspire creativity and hope and they foster cross-market innovation among entertainment, gaming, comics, art, and fashion. Their mission is to create a fun, action-packed, unforgettable broadcast event tailored to all of the things we geeks love -- delivered via the latest digital technologies.

Additional information about The Geekie Awards®, is available at: www.TheGeekieAwards.com | Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheGeekieAwards | Follow #Geekies2014 at http://twitter.com/TheGeekieAwards on twitter.

PRESS CONTACTS:
Shanti Olcese Brook
Email Contact
310-200-4161

Chastity Irizarry
Email Contact
310-975-4012

MarketWire

Comment on this story

Share